Newbie here to conquer my "Final Boss"

Good afternoon/evening/morning to you fine folks… Since I am writer by profession, this will be wordy. I apologize in advanced.

I started playing in the late 80s on a Harmony Strat and graduated to a BC Rich Mockingbird that was basically DOA and due to it’s condition, I was able to trade it in for an Ibanez JS-1. That is where my journey truly began.

I cut my teeth on Satriani and Vai tunes, then when Images And Words came out, Petrucci was thrown in. I dabbled with plenty of other players and bands, but none that I dove head first into studying. I knew their catalogs front to back and got to the point where I could read tab books like people read regular books. As my musical mentor put it when I was a teenager, I was a “technical phenom”. I packed up and moved to LA, CA to go Musician’s Institute in 1999 in hopes that I could do finally do something about it. I had been playing for 11 years at that point, so surely I could fly through the ranks, right? Turns out that only knowing other people’s songs (especially instrumentals and such) won’t get you very far. I spent the next few years trying to learn how to be a musician and not just a guitarist. ADVICE TO YOU YOUNGSTERS OUT THERE… Be a musician first, as best you can. Find, or at least make the attempt of discovering your musical self.

I did a fair amount of touring and such in the early 2k’s and working with some known players in various capacities. I started a band that had potential (insanely heavy stuff, not death metal, but sort of like if Meshuggah was legitimately pissed off but really liked hiphop and jazz) to do fairly well.