Observation about pick edge curve

I’ve drawn a black line along the edge. Been using these two picks, the purple is what I’ve been using for a few years now. I play with 3mm action at the 12th fret minimum on my yjm strat.

I don’t know how useful this is to folks but I found that the straighter edged D’andrea pick was harder to control especially up the neck where your fretted string is noticeably lower during string transitions, I got used to the pick and probably cleaned up some sloppy technique but just thought that subtle difference in edge profile makes a difference!

Before the purples I used to use the Jazz 3 red, that pick is shorter and has a bigger angle at the pointy corner, probably one of the reasons it’s so popular, clearing strings is a lot easier, but I’m not a fan of it’s tone.

edit: the irony is these picks are pointier than the jazz 3 reds in a sense :slight_smile:

I prefer a pick with a very sharp point, but when I tried the V-Pick Switchblade I found the same problem you describe. The edges are too straight for me. I was shocked at how much it messed with my picking.

index

1 Like

I, too, find curved edges to be optimal. My current favorite pick is the Dunlop Flow, which has very curved edges ending in a very pointed tip. A friend of mine used Dunlop Sharps years ago, which are pointed with completely flat edges, and I found them nigh unusable. haha

1 Like

Glad to know I’m not alone on this.

Between the purple and the D’andrea the curve difference is so subtle, but it makes it much harder to pick!

The thing is the D’andrea material is somewhat unique, old school resin and I really like the tone, will sound killer on acoustic, seems to have better longevity, but it’s also a bit strange as the material seems harder but it develops a bend. Initially I didn’t bother with them due to their tendency to develop a curve, but now I’ve figured that just got to play them with the concave side on the thumb and it’s all fine.

1 Like