Ok lets try again

I’ve been playing for ever, 40 years… For what ever reason my picking sucks. The pic always seems to get stuck in between strings. How do we determine what the best strategy is to change to a different style of picking? I’m currently studying Jazz but grew up on Southern Rock and Blues.

Thanks

Ken

5 Likes

Yo! Any chance you have some video clips? It would help provide feedback.

1 Like

The simplest answer is, can you cross strings playing a pentatonic scale, does the pick get stuck there, or can you play that fairly quickly? Can you play a chromatic four note scale and cross strings (78910, 78910, 78910)? If you get stuck doing these two things, then chances are, you are a downstroke escape player. If you CAN play these, you are an upstroke escape player.

If you are an upstroke escape player (Yngwie, Eric Johnson, Gypsy Jazz guys), then know that when you are playing scales, you need to focus on changing strings after an upstroke.

If you are a downstroke escape then 7 8 10, cross strings 7 8 should feel smooth. If this is the case, know that you should change strings after playing an odd number first, but then every change after happens on an even. This is because the pickstrokes are: D U D (change) U D, (change) U D. It took me ages to figure that out, but it does smooth things out.

Hi Shredhead,

I’ll try and post a video, can I post it in this thread?
Thanks

Ken

Heres a video

hopefully this works…thanks

I just posted a video in this thread
Thanks
Ken