One week in and feeling very lost

Hi Guys,

I have been playing for about 23 years now. I was self-taught until about two years ago when I started taking lessons from Tom Hess. I learned some things I didn’t already know about theory and some picking techniques but overall I got tired of the cost and him talking himself and his program up all the time. Also, I stalled out and made no progress for a while.

I decided to spend some time working on just a few areas that are important to me. Writing better/more melodic solos and gaining some speed. I have started in looking through all the downslant material and it is really interesting. I feel like this pick slanting will actually enable me to gain some speed. I don’t necessarily want to be shredding all the time but I would like to have the ability to throw in some speed at will.

Now that I’m down this rabbit hole I’m seeing there is more to it than just one style and a lot of guys end up doing what works for them.

Where I am stuck now is three things (probably more).

First, Tom teaches directional picking. I spent a long time learning to integrate this into my playing for string changes. It works well but it tends to throw off my flow during faster runs because you sort of stop and sweep. With pickslanting and alternate picking this doesn’t seem to happen and string switching seems easier.

Second, I really don’t know if I am doing this correctly. I have been pushing it pretty hard for about a week and it doesn’t feel natural. I’m starting to doubt everything now (pick grip, pick angle, arm position, wrist position etc…). I don’t want to continue practicing this if I am doing it wrong!

Third, I can’t tell if I am downslanting, upslanting or both. Someone said it looked like a U-shape.