Pathetic speed and technique after many years of practicing. Can you help me?

It’s my first post here, so hi, I’m Chris from Warsaw. I’m 28 and I’ve been playing for something like 13 years. Initially on acoustic and not very seriously, but for at least 8 years I’ve been trying to learn to shred.

Unfortunately I totally suck. I could always do tapping fast, and maybe I should have held on to that and build my style around it. But I’ve been trying to learn alternate picking too. Someone showed me this lick and I’ve been working on it for at least 3 years, and was never able to get past 150bpm 16th notes / 200bpm 8th note triplets.

Here is how I tremolo pick. From slow speed to a point where I can’t do it:

Here is the lick that I mentioned. Look… I always have to start extremely slowly and graaaadually increase the tempo, otherwise I suck even more than in the video:

I learnt a lot from Cracking the code. I understand that I’m doing upward pick slanting. I also believe string crossing is not an issue here. Playing such triplets on one string is to me even more challenging:

Guys please help me out. I’ve seen a lot of videos on the internet. Took lessons face to face. Took lessons online. Some people after 2 years of playing can rip it all over the neck. Maybe I’m just hopelessly talentless when it comes to shred? Is it worth spending more time on this, or should I just stick to tapping and master it?

If you think I should keep trying, please tell me how exactly you think I should practice this stuff to gain some decent speed? Let’s say I’d like to be able to pick at 250bpm with 8th note triplets, and make every note sound good, not so out of control as it is now.

3 Likes

Welcome aboard!

you arent as bad as you make out to be lol. We are all trying to get better

The main advice I could give would be that doing the WHOLE SCALE is like the hardest way to learn IMO. So if I were you id break it down into smaller sections