Personal help with picking (Video)

Hello all you lovely people I hope you are safe wherever you are in the world.

I’m new to Troy’s course and trying to get the hang of downward pick slanting. I’m just wondering if it’s correct? I’ve always struggled with very basic picking patterns and wanting to get it down finally.

I have another problem which is holding the pick too close to the tip? If I hold it with more space it feels unstable and weird. That also makes rest strokes hard for me to do.

Any advice would vibe greatly welcomed.
Cheers!
Pez.

1 Like

Thanks for posting! This looks great. What is the problem you’re trying to fix here?

Try not to worry too much about the “pickslant”. The way you determine what kind of picking motion you’re doing is by looking at the way the pick is moving. You’ve done a great job with the filming angle here so you can see clearly what the pick is doing. When you play those first three notes on the first string of this phrase, which way is the pick moving? Are downstrokes going up in the air, or are upstrokes going up in the air, or are both going up in the air?

The answer in this case that downstrokes are going up in the air. This isn’t downward pickslanting, this is what we used to call “upward pickslanting”. But again I wouldn’t look at the pick, and I wouldn’t call it that. I’d just look at the motion. Since the pick is moving in a way where downstrokes are going up in the air and escaping, we now just call this a “Downstroke Escape” motion. You’re using wrist motion for this, so the video that describes what you’re doing is here:

If you give this a watch, it should look familiar to what you’re doing here. Further, if you have to play a single note on a string and do it smoothly and quickly, what does it look like? Try filming that and look at it. Does it look like this motion? If so, then you know what you’re doing.