Pick slanting vs. Economy picking

I just started playing after a while and I’m trying to correct some things I probably should’ve back in the day.

There is some awesome stuff in You Tube these days, obviously I really like Troy Grady’s stuff and I was wondering about Pick Slanting and Economy Picking. I do use, I guess I didn’t realize I did before, pick slanting but when going up from a lower string into a higher one, when going from 3 (or odds) notes played on that string going up since you end with the pick stuck on the other side.
However the vids I watched show exercises even going the other way, from a higher string into a lower one, in those situations I rather use economy picking, why would I hope over that string to play it upstroke instead of just down? So, can I combine both effectively, I mean pick slanting and economy piking? Or you must embrace the rules of pick slanting and always, always alternate pick up and down, up and down regardless?

Maybe I should watch Cracking the Code again, it makes me think that Malmsteen and other fast players will not use Economy Picking so the upstroke and down stroke movement at highs speed doesn’t get interrupted, so in that sense, are Economy Picking and Pick Slanting mutually exclusive?

Thanks!

I don’t think they are mutually exclusive. I have some economy picking habits from “the old days” before learning about pick slanting. Since learning these concepts from Troy, I can play/approach alternate picking much better.

So I have “keeped” the habit of playing economy when I play 3nps ascending a scale (dwps) but when I descend the scale, I usually alternate. So you could say, “oh that’s a mess” but I really don’t think it is hindering me from doing what I want right now.