Picking Advice for instructional piece

How does one go about picking this tune? It is from an instructional book I tabbed into Guitar Pro. The book says alternate picking but there will need to be pick escapes I believe. Thx

`

2 Likes

To play that as written and alternate pick, you’d need a motion that escapes in both directions (DBX or “double escape”). This is a great piece for working on that technique since it has a mix of 1 nps, even numbers on some strings, odds on the others. This is exactly what Troy recommends we do for learning DBX. Thanks for posting, now I’ve got another piece of actual music to play for DBX that isn’t an “exercise”.

2 Likes

Glad this will help you. This piece has eluded for years at a fast pace. I am new to Cracking the Code so I’ll need to watch more on Double Escape motion.

1 Like

Yes, technically you’d need DBX for this, and it’s good for working on that because of the aforementioned reasons, and also that it’s 3/4 with triplets, so the measures will alternate starting on downs and ups and you’ll need to be strong starting with either. But (warning: griping ahead), this piece is not meant to be played fast. lol You can turn just about anything into a technical exercise, I suppose, but it will lose its musicality - that’s a whole different discussion, though.

1 Like

I immediately noticed that after playing through it a little ha…pretty trixy! There’s nothing else I mess with that has that concept.

Sneaky little Bachs tries to tricks us, Preciousss!

2 Likes

2 Truths about Bach that most people won’t admit:

1. He got all his ideas from Yngwie
  2. He hated guitarists, that’s why all his music is so hard to play on guitar.
5 Likes

I’d say that Paganini got even more ideas from YJM than Bach did…

Does “alternate” mean that there are never two downstrokes or two upstrokes in a row? If so, is alternate picking possible with 1 NPS unless one uses a double-escaped technique?