Picking analysis

Looking for some advice on how to get faster.

Looks like your video is set to private. Go into your YouTube studio editor and change it to unlisted, that should fix it up.

Thanks. I fixed it in youtube.

Hi Geoff, welcome! Welcome to the forum, and great picking. Im not an expert in these things, but from what I see, it looks like you’re “string hopping”. There is plenty of CTC literature/videos about this, so you’re in the right place.

If i’m right, The approach you’re using uses flexion and extension for both strokes, sort of like a “door knocking” gesture. This is an inefficient movement, as it does not alternate; instead using the same muscle group for each stroke. you’re probably close to the speed limit with this approach. If it’s anything like my string hopping habit, it feels tense, jumpy, and hard to control. You may already be at the speed limit for this approach. If you’ve struggled for years to get faster, this is probably why.

From here, I can only suggest that you try to create a base line of smoothness by exploring some of the DSX/USX literature on the site. This will give you a physical base of reference for what you’ll eventually need to do to play flatpicked melodies: A DBX (double escape/AKA Crosspicking) approach. Im sure someone with more experience here will chime in. Best of luck! Check out these two videos:

String Hopping:

DBX/Crosspicking (this video might have come out before the “DBX” terminology existed, but it means the same thing in practice).

1 Like

Out of curiosity, do you feel you can go any faster (doing ANY type of picking) than the pace at which you’re playing that tune?

I’m in the middle trying to cure my own tendency for inefficient movement for things I’m learning, especially things that contain string switches I’m not so familiar with.

If someone said, (threat implied! :smiley: ) play that as fast as you can, what do you think would fail first, your picking, or your fretting?