Picking critique

Hello,

I am trying to improve my picking technique such that I could I play 16th notes on low E and then play a chord on the A and then come back and repeat. Long term, I hope to be able to do this at 200 bpm+ speeds. Currently, I can play 150 bmp with about 80% accuracy. I have provided a video at 3 angles with normal and slow motion speeds where I try to play the riff at 160 bpm. When I watch the video, I can see I don’t have the technique correct but I haven’t figured out how to correct it. Also, I can see that I am skipping an entire string when I strike the chord on the A string. The large movement seems necessary but I know it’s not.

Here’s the link to the video:

Any advice or comments that point me in the direction to be able to play this riff and others that are similar will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

–Brad

Hi @bbunton. I am a noob so I’m sorry I can’t give you a critique. In fact, I actually have some questions for you. First of all are you anchoring your picking hand anywhere in this video? I can’t tell if it’s floating or if you’re anchoring on the bridge. Second of all, how are you recording from up above the guitar?

Thank you

I am anchoring my picking hand on the bridge as well as the underside of my forearm which is resting on the guitar body.

For the video, I put my 10 year old to work :slight_smile: She can film from whatever angle I need including right upon the neck, similar to the how the “magnet” does it.

–Brad

For heavy rhythm playing, I would suggest to maybe supinate your forearm more and bend your wrist, so you can add a bit more of a “knocking” motion. I think it might give you more power and the ability to hit the chords easier.

Thank you. I’ll give that try.

–Brad