Pickslanting questions

hello to all of you!

I am new to to the playing technique two way pickslanting and training it now for days :slight_smile:
I think i understood the principals really well but there are soem questions, that i have no answer for.

1. In the CTC series on youtube, in the last episode, where you analyse Michael Angelo Batio ´s technique, you can see in the animation, that you change the pickslant after the second note on a string, by 3 notes per string patterns :slight_smile: My Question: Is it important when you change it? Could the change happen even before the first note or after it etc.?
  2. My second question is in the case that you play a lick that contains only one note on a string (The Paul Gilbert lick for example) how do make the pickslanting changes there correct on the one note :slight_smile:
    Greets from Bavaria! cheers hans and thanks for your videos
  1. It doesn’t really matter, but typically rotation happens on the last note before a string change, or on the first note after a string change. Usually a player works with only one of those options, just to keep things consistent.

2. The single note on a string is usually played with a rotating stroke, so the pick doesn’t really establish a “pickslant” for that 1 note. Swiping allows you to play the single string note with 1-way pick slant, this is usually how Gilbert does it at max speed.

1 Like

Thank you for the fast answer! I will watch now some swiping explanations! :slight_smile:

Thanks for watchng our stuff! Those episodes are a little old now, and the truth is we probably would not place as much emphasis on what the pick looks like now, because it was a little confusing to people trying to learn. What you should really be thinking about are the picking motions you use. Because the motions you use determine the way the pick moves.