Ping Pong Sixes UWPS

Ping Pong Sixes UWPS

If I naturally gravitate towards UWPS and do not want to start on an up stroke for this 6 note lick, is it technically ok to start on a down stroke and pull off on the last note of each string to preserve changing on a down?

I ask because I did this and played faster and cleaner than ever before. Since I am new to Cracking the Code, I don’t want to start any bad habits before I am able to get through this mountain of material.

1 Like

When you do this you are making it a lot easier for yourself as the hardest part is obviously the string change and when you pull off to the last note you basically have double the amount of time to change strings. This is not bad from a musical point of view, however, if you want to practice your picking technique you are kind of skipping the most important part when doing this. When you don’t want to go for a dwps method but want to pick all notes, you can easily flip the pattern by using an upsweep on the first string change like so:

This is basically the old yngwie sweep trick but applied in the uwps-world where you can only sweep to a lower string. The only part where you really have to do a pull off in uwps-mode is when you start that pattern on the lower string:

But there is nothing wrong with starting this lick on an upstroke which puts you directly into the correct starting position, the other 2 approaches only manipulate the first string change in a way so you end up with an upstroke at the beginning of the 2nd pattern.

1 Like

Thank you Maximal for your very thorough response. Last night I play sextuplets at 120 BMP which I have never done in years of playing with the pull off method. I will try strict UWPS tonight.

Another question is if I am doing 3 note per string run with 3 notes on each string (e.g., major Ionian scale), I have to either use a hammer on/pull off or a sweep pick? Is this correct since I don’t have an even number of notes in the chunk?