Plateau... I don't know what to learn next

Last time I created a topic it was all about increasing speed while playing tremolo picked patterns across multiple strings.
The tempo was 180 and I pretty much got it now.
In the meantime I bought an 8 string monster of a guitar.

BUT, I don’t think I am making any progress, not really - I mean, I noticed how most challenging part of things I play is just the speed. Most of the stuff I play is just tremolo picking, and it is not really difficult, even if the speed is out of reach, I can eventually get there through practice.

I want to get better, but WHAT exactly should I practice?
I can do some easier sweep-picking patterns, I can do some tapping, I am trying to figure out Tosin Abasi’s thumping technique, but I constantly have a feeling that something is missing.
I am not a beginner player, but I do not consider myself advanced either.

Should I just carry on practicing those sweeps/tapping until I become better?
Or is there anything else I could get my hands on?

Basically what I am looking for is some ideas on what to get myself busy with and would benefit my technique the most.

2 Likes

Is your goal to learn to play songs or is it to write your own material?

Preferably - to write my own music, but to be honest with you, I have no clue on how to start, and better yet, I am torn between a few sub-genres such as progressive and black metal.

I have some riffs that I would like to glue together, but then again, if I try to use them and write some other riffs to fill out the blanks I am mostly dissatisfied with the results.

I have no idea on how to write other instruments as well - drums for me are something from outer space. I don’t have a bass guitar as well, so for now I can just jam along some tracks or play whatever riffs come to my mind, which accomplishes nothing really.

All in all I’d like to be a more accomplished instrumentalist.

1 Like