Playing Mediterranean music on a classical guitar

Recently I discovered the following masterpiece.

After I listened to it many times and Al’s entire discography, I decided to start learning that kind of repertoire, playing with a pick of course. Coincidentally, a friend of mine gifted me his old Yamaha C40 (entry level classical guitar), which by the way is a lot of guitar for 150 US dollars.

The burning question now… How do I approach this? I’m studying electric guitar since I started playing and this whole thing might be different. Do you have any songs to suggest, ideally with tabs because I can’t read formal notation yet.

Technique wise, I have a kinda similar form to Al Di Meola, especially when trying to play fast, so I think I’ll maintain that kind of technique until I get stuck somewhere.

Any suggestions about songs, exercises, CTC material and technique would be really appreciated!

1 Like

If you don’t need to play classical guitar pieces on that guitar, I would recommend that you take it to a luthier, and have him sand down the saddle, so that the strings are low, like on a flamenco guitar. That will be very useful in trying to play those fast riffs.

Besides from that, you can try and play youtube videos in slow tempo to figure out how and which notes they play.

You mention Al di Meola, I would say practice what Troy calls “the pepsi lick”, which Al uses a lot. Also

this lick
----------7-------
7-8-10—10-8-7

is something that he plays often.

2 way pick slanting could be a good idea to practice if going the Al route.

2 Likes

I think you’d also get a lot of mileage out of the Strunz & Farah material that CTC has done. I really enjoyed that interview and the adjoining lessons.

3 Likes

I believe this one is swiped 99% of the time in Al’s playing (similar to what Gilbert does). You can hear the occasional open B string in the live version of Mediterranean Sundance, for example (when muting is not perfect on the upstroke swipe).