Please Critique My Reverse Dart Form

Hi everyone. I would like feedback on my alternate picking. I’m new to reverse dart throwing. The last 20 years I have wrist picked side to side. I used to anchor with the wrist band of my arm instead of the side of my hand. The updated reverse dart thrower video have been a revelation and my picking speed exponentially. However, I struggle with slower paced exercises such as chromatic scales at 100 bpm. Something feels off and after rewatching Troy’s videos and sticking my hand in the air and doing “the motion” countless times, I’ve had enough and would like some feedback. I don’t have a phone magnet so I tried my best with the angles. Please let me know if you would like better angles.

The second video looks pretty solid but it’s very hard to say because the bpm is pretty low (around 145bpm)

The general idea is to get something happening at a reasonably fast pace (180bpm or more ideally)

You’re having issues with the chromatic stuff because your technique changes a bit (you seem to be doing some borderline string hopping stuff) but also possibly due to a lack of experience? Your left hand seems to struggle as well, not just your right hand.

My suggestion would be to try and get a motion (elbow, wrist, forearm rdt, dsx, usx etc.) on a single string first at a decent tempo with a feeling of ease, and the ability to keep it going for at least 2 or more bars.

At these slower tempos almost anyhting (including string hopping) will work to one degree or another.

Bump the tempo up, see what happens and forget about the left hand for now.

When evaluating your performance you really have to be ruthless with yourself, because it will save you the most wasted time. Are you really picking faster or not? You have accurate test results now, and the test results on the platform are way faster than these clips. So the good news is you can do it. The bad news is, you are not doing it yet. But don’t worry, that’s temporary!