Please help me find a way to smooth picking

Hi,
I’ve been playing for 10 years and I’ve been able to play something advanced pieces like Turkish March or Winter by Vivaldi. But I was never able to play faster than 130. My pickibg technique was to play my pick paralel to the string and hold it loose enough to pasa the string. Which was fine miś passing from one string to next but not for tremolo. Now I’m tryng to find a new way but I can’t have nice, smooth and constat attack for life. I ve been tooling with my grip and have placement but I ce never quiet found one where everything was okay. Can you Please help? Here are some examples. Let me know If more are needed.

2 Likes

Great filming angles!!!

I see a lot of the pick getting snagged on the string. It’s causing the amount of edge picking to be different on the upstrokes vs the down strokes and just in general probably robbing you from the ‘smoothness’ that you’re looking for in a fast picking motion.

Maybe try some different pick shapes? Looks like your pick is very pointy and you’ll probably need more edge picking than what you’re using if you’re set on that style of pick. You can also experiment with how tightly you hold the pick and how deep it is going as both of those things can contribute to snagging.

Don’t be afraid to make the pick strokes bigger either. The motion you are using looks like it might be trapped in both directions and that will cause other issues even once this smooths out. Sometimes intentionally allowing the string to hit (i.e. “rest stroke”) the next adjacent string (so either the “D” or “B” string since you are tremoloing on the “G” string) helps in making it escape in one direction.