Practice Routine Advice

Hey all!

I’ve been experimenting with my practice routine for a couple of months now and I wanted to get folks’ advice and see what they recommend for next steps. While I do feel that the routine has been working for me, I constantly feel like there are things I can be optimizing.

I usually start with some rhythm warm-ups and some jazz practice to work on my music theory, then dive into a few technique exercises. This is the first 30 minutes. After that, I spend the bulk of my time on fragments of different songs that I love, usually focusing on a technique like cross picking, alternate picking, sweep picking, etc. Finally I close it out with some sight reading/improv and a few other things.

I like having a structured routine with logs. I’ve tried the “just play whatever when you can” (which I saw recommended on a few threads in the past about this topic) and it only took me so far. I’m a pretty obnoxiously organized person in other parts of my life, so no surprise that guitar practice happens to follow suit!

For the bulk of my practice (which is the song fragments), I usually “superset” the practice. So I’ll spend 4 minutes drilling an alternate picking run, then 4 minutes on some tapping sequence, then back to the alternate picking run, and so on. I’ll do 3 sets of each, so I’ll spend 12 minutes total on each lick. I remember reading somewhere that this type of context switching can be very helpful to the learning process.

What I’m wondering is, is 12 minutes too short to be working on something each day? Too much? I usually practice a variety of techniques every day. Is it better to maybe spend closer to 30 minutes on something, and potentially confine my routine to only a small subset of different techniques for a couple of weeks at a time? If so, when do I decide to move on?

Thanks for all your help!