Pre-CTC Picking Technique

Thank you in advance for your time and consideration. As the title suggests, I am new to CTC/MIM and this is my current technique. It is how I’ve always picked since starting approximately 30 years ago. If there was an evolution anywhere along the path it was unintended and unnoticed. I tried to tinker with grip a couple of times years ago, but I settled right where I started. I have no formal training to speak of, so this is my first foray into a formalized guitar practice system. This would be the before in a before-and-after comparison. I have not practiced anything from CTC yet. Was trying to get advice about the best way to start and what needs the most attention.

I mentioned in my introduction thread that I have a difficult time picking anything beyond a certain point and it is by no means fast. This is about as fast as I can play without the wheels completely falling off the wagon. The lick is the intro to “I Know a Little”, which I mentioned also in my introduction thread. It’s a song I’ve always loved and wanted to play, among others, but that I just have never had the speed or accuracy to play. All feedback is welcome and appreciated.

Thank you.

4 Likes

Hey! You could start apply Downward Pickslanting and Rest strokes to this intro to get a system in place for your accuracy. Also, I would work on the six note pattern to work on your synchronization. The notes on the b string on pretty muted, but that will go away once your sync is better. Try emphasizing the first note on each string and only focuses on that one to chunk it like Troy mentions in Ctc. Also, i would pick all of the notes until the pattern is sounding clean. That way you always know where both hands are.

2 Likes

I might dive into this thread as it gets rolling, but since your question is pretty open-ended, I’m curious what @troy might suggest you do.

1 Like