R.I.P Jeff Beck

Just heard the news he passed away quite suddenly :slightly_frowning_face: R.I.P Jeff

5 Likes

I saw Al Di Meola post about it on Facebook moments ago… still processing it. Major loss to the guitar world.

My favorite piece from Jeff:

5 Likes

I’m completely lost for words.

I’ll edit this post later with my tribute to Jeff. I need to listen to his playing and cry first.

EDIT:

I find myself struggling to even begin writing this. What can I possibly write about Jeff Beck that hasn’t already been written? What can I write that you won’t read on social media or some guitar website? What could possibly do justice to his unparalled virtuosity, his phenomenal career, his extraordinay longevity or his incredible legacy? Nothing. I can only write about what Jeff Beck’s playing has meant to me.

I first heard Jeff Beck’s early recordings soon after I started playing guitar. I was a big fan of Cream and Led Zeppelin. The connection of Clapton and Page through The Yardbirds lead to me Jeff Beck’s playing with the Yardbirds, and the first Jeff Beck Group. I enjoyed his his early playing, and it’s still very much worth listening to. However, I had heard guitarists speak with a reverence for Jeff, and I must say I didn’t understand it.

Sometime later, I dug a little further. I heard Blow By Blow and Wired, and the second Jeff Beck group. I enjoyed this era of his career more than his earlier work. His playing was certainly more impressive from a technical standpoint, and I could understand the importance of his instrumental albums in the historical context of instrumental rock guitar. However, I still didn’t understand the reverence.