Recorded guitar sound advice

I started playing again seriously a few years back and I’m a total noob when it comes to the new technology, amp modeling and PCs for recorded guitar.

I’m currently messing with Audacity, but I wanted some advice on getting good recorded guitar sound, with multi tracks, drums, etc.

Where should I start? Free and beyond?

Thanks

1 Like

Hello

I would suggest to leave Audacity and switch to Reaper. It has everything you need or even more, it’s used even by some professionals and the discounted license is about $60.

For guitar tones you should try free version of Native Instruments Guitar Rig, there are some nice guitar sounds for start.

I’m not sure about free Drumsets, I use Native Instruments Session Drummer most of the time but it’s quite expensive. I’m sure there are some free or cheaper alternatives.

4 Likes

Huge topic, but I’ll help where I can.

1. DAW choice is subjective so use whatever works for you. However, I’d suggest trying Reaper for three reasons - one, it’s free to try, cheap to buy, and really, really good, two, it has extremely active support and a great user community, and three, it’s what I use so I know it pretty well and can help with questions pretty easily.

2. I’m a bit of a purist when it comes to recording, in that I like to use an amp and mics, rather than software. If you’d rather use software, though, that’s fine too - it’s just a different way of getting a raw guitar sound onto disc. Use whatever works for you. If you go software, check out some of the freeware options before spending money - LePou’s amp sim VST’s are excellent, in my experience.