Regressing and getting worse

First post here. Really glad to be part of this group. I’ve been playing for 40 years. I’m pretty fast, but lots of legato/hybrid. I’ve decided to work through this course material to try to get to true alternate picking. This has led me to discover that my right and left hands are WAY out of sync. It’s terrible. The more I practice getting them in sync, its seems like they just get worse. Is this normal? Is it something that people normally break through eventually? Should I just slow way down and basically start over? Thanks for any advice.

1 Like

Welcome! I see that you are a MIM subscriber, so the best course of action would be to open a Technique critique directly on the platform!

2 Likes

Thank you tommo. Just added a TC. Happy to add more video of specific things if requested. All the best.

1 Like

Hey there “Insideout”! I would suggest that your existing legato/hybrid stuff will be fine - it’s probably baked in and that aspect of your playing is fine. The actual picking stuff - well perhaps it’s a matter of becoming more aware of the shortcomings and limitations as one digs in? Something you maybe thought sounded fine before now you are paying much closer attention to detail and as well in the process hitting some challenges?

I don’t know - but for myself, even when I fail (which is a lot) there is a positive take away…

Anyways! Have a good one, can’t wait to hear what you do!

2 Likes