Rest stroke practice

Greetings everyone, I am a newbie here, though have already watched every video and clip probably twice over. Slowly “incubating” the ideas both in UWPS/DWPS and TWPS. I have always wondered why I could blast out some really fast alternate picking but never had much control of it, I mean, don’t get me wrong, it was accurate as far as hitting the strings @ the appropriate tempo/subdivisions but for any more than a quick burst of a scale run, I basically had zero stamina, and the event had to be prepared for like using the star uppercut on Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out, lol. I found it especially difficult to play palm muted JP style riffs as I could never quite tame the bouncing/kickback feeling against my elbow. I knew there was something I was doing wrong but everybody I had talked to about this just told me I was doing fine and not to worry so much about it…how frustrating. I now understand that my motions are essentially a continuous form of crosspicking, at best, and while I have reduced the “string hopping” motions to a minimum, my technique has always felt insecure, which is an awful feeling. I mean sure, I can do a lot of impressive techniques but with the right hand it is only by brute forcing my way through it, which feels terrible. Make no mistake, I have put in lots of time with this, been going at this off and on for 10 years, for the first 3 years I did strict 3hrs a day rain or shine, got almost nowhere.

Having watched the videos I realized that slanting doesn’t really do anything or me, and to reiterate my earlier point, the only way that seems possible is if I am clearing the plane of strings by slightly swooping in and out, which is crosspicking. I can’t seem to think of a way to practice using more of a flat picking motion other than doing rest strokes to bury the pick into the string plane with DWPS, though i have no idea how to do this with, let alone using UWPS. Any rest stroke videos or exercises you all would recommend?