Resting picking hand on strat with floating trem?

Hello. I’m new to MiM and excited about developing more speed (and have watched the pickslanting primer and intro videos).

I play a strat with a very nicely set up floating trem which I like for a few ‘Jeff Beck’ articulations
Regarding DWPS in particular, obviously resting the pinky side of the hand on the saddles/ supinating the wrist would put a floating trem slightly out… anyone have any experience of a successful hand position in this situation? Or do most people use a blocked trem like Troy does in the vids?

Thanks v much!
Jake

1 Like

I think a lot of times the detuning comes from too much pressure applied by the side of the picking hand. If you avoid pressing down you won’t put it out of tune. There also might be a sensitivity issue with regard to your tremolo setup.

2 Likes

I use a floating trem on most of my guitars. Finding the fulcrum resting point and not applying pressure is key I think. It’s placed on the bridge, but not so much pressing on it. Welcome!

1 Like

@guitarenthusiast Great, thanks, I’ll try just resting without pressing whenever I do come into contact
@RockStarJazzCat That’s helpful to know, cheers. Do you find generally that you start with the hand on the bridge but if you need to trace down for the lower strings your hand isn’t on the saddles so much but more in front of the bridge towards the neck?

1 Like

Not sure I can answer that easily. I use a variety of techniques, and am answering based on having had the same pitch issue you’ve describing, maybe 25-30 years ago. :wink:

1 Like

Floating trem freak here

If you’re pushing the bridge out of pitch then you need to either lighten your hand (try using fingertips as a light anchor perhaps?) or you could try using high-tension springs on the trem to steady it. Either that or you need to adjust your hand position to a less sensitive spot on the bridge.