Sam's Technique evaluation and predominant motion

Hello guys,

So, I did all my motion testing and recorded a couple videos for you guys to see. I have no idea what kind of picking motion I use, but I know something is not right as I can never feel completely comfortable. So, I did record some videos of my picking hand to see if you guys can help. They are in regular speed and slow motion.

Here are my motion test results:

1. Wrist flexion/extension - 240 bpm
  2. VH wrist motion, 1 o’clock - 230
  3. Di Meola Wrist, 2 o’clock - 220
  4. Elbow - 250
  5. Forearm - 220

And here are the videos:

1. Tremolo
  1. Tremolo Slow Motion
  1. Open strings picking and 1,2,3,4 exercise regular speed.
  1. Slow motion

Thank you so much for all the help you can provide.

Wishing you all the best.

I’m not an expert by any means but for me your fast motion looks like coming from the elbow and escaping on the downstrokes. I have a very similar picking motion and I’d start playing that chromatic like starting with an upstroke, it feels much comfortable that way. It’s a nice and fast tremolo motion in my opinion.

Thank you so much! I appreciate your feedback. I also think is an elbow motion more than anything, but I feel I move the wrist a lot too, so not sure how to evaluate that. I also feel that when I play slow or at a moderate tempo, my motion is wrist movement. But, when I go fast I feel it changes to elbow. Nevertheless, there is something that don’t let me pick well when I go fast. Hope to get some insights and help from you all. Thanks again.

1 Like

I don’t think using the elbow means you can’t use the wrist at the same time. I think these motions are connected in some way. I also use a lot of my wrist but the main motion is coming from the elbow for sure.

Thanks for posting! Those are great test numbers. You have plenty of speed.