Shocked by how bad my right hand technique is (help please)

Hi all

I’m new to the forum so thought I would say hi and ask for a bit of guidance on my picking technique. I have been a big fan of the cracking the code videos for a while and have recently found a bit of time to go through the pickslanting primer.

It makes so much sense and I knew that I wasn’t doing something right because I can’t achieve string changes at high speeds. Not sure what I was expecting to see when I recorded the videos but I am a bit shocked at how sloppy my technique is…:see_no_evil:

It looks like I am ‘bouncing’, which doesn’t surprise me all that much, but I definitely thought that I might have been achieving a bit of an upward escape motion. I’m fairly horrified that I have been picking this way for about 20 years (as it is so inefficient), but sort of relieved that I have an obvious mechanical issue to overcome. The only issue is that I’m really struggling to affect a successful downward pickslant / upward escape motion. It feels like whatever I do, the pick just wants to stay buried between the strings on the upstroke. Even if I physically angle the guitar differently, the motion compensates. Fairly annoying…

Has anyone got any experience correcting this type of picking motion? I’ll take a look through the forum to see if this has cropped up anywhere else, but any direct feedback would be much appreciated.

My goal is to play Cliffs of Dover. I know I can do it. I have the speed in my fingers, I just can’t apply the technique and now I know why.

Any thoughts and feedback would be really useful.

Cheers

Matt

5 Likes

Hi! Thanks for signing up. These are great clips - did you make a Magnet?