Short picking example

So, this is just a brief picking clip. These are some of the patterns that come pretty easily to me, but I’m really a novice at taking video of my playing, or even analyzing my movements in the way you all do around here. With the posting clips discussion that’s happening right now, I wasn’t really sure if I should post this here, so feel free to move it if that’s more appropriate.

2 Likes

Nice playing! Powerful elbow motion with downward escape (UWPS). The transition to upward escape (DWPS) is very obvious in de ascending parts and the execution seems super solid. There are a few descending (upward) sweeps in the slower pars that I guess you are aware of. It all seems to work really nicely and sounds great!

Was there anything specific you wanted feedback on?

Otherwise I have a question; when using an elbow motion, I think there is consensus that your motion more or less is gonna be downward escape (UWPS) due to how the elbow joint works. So when switching into upward escape (DWPS), does that have to be a different motion mechanic coming into play?

1 Like

Thanks for checking it out! I’m looking for feedback on… stuff haha. No basically I’m just trying to find any sort of idiosyncratic things in my playing that are holding back my technique. Since starting to pay attention to the things that Troy’s analysis points to, ive gained at least 10 bpm to my top speed, so I’m pretty convinced that I should keep exploring this.

That said, and with no disrespect at all, I’m going to disagree with the idea that I’m using an elbow mechanic. I’m sure it’s probably related to video quality, but I definitely pick from the wrist.

Well, you’re playing great so just keep exploring! :slight_smile: