Should "alternate pick everything" be the standard in guitar education?

I figured teacher’s lounge is the best place to post this.

When teaching total beginners, especially children, despite all we’ve learned through CtC, should we still teach the idea of “alternate pick everything” despite all the string crossing challenges, and then apply the more in depth discussions of escape motions, pick slanting, etc. once a student has a basic control of their right hand, even if its messy and full of string hopping and inefficient motion? Or should “proper” escape and pick slanting mechanics be taught from day 1?

I’m posing this question because I need to present an argument to “higher ups” at the music school I teach at that are implementing a curriculum with method books that show some rather cumbersome pick directions for certain examples, especially early on in the beginner books. One of which is a two-way pick slant/crosspicking nightmare of a pentatonic scale “3s” lick that is usually done with pull offs (you know the lick I’m talking about… the one everyone and their mom learns to do). The initial idea in the book is the standard “kids need to learn to alternate pick everything” because… well because no one ever questioned that concept before CtC came along.

For a very long time now I’ve been starting students off with one way, DWPS, since I personally feel its the easiest to learn with the least amount of variables, but I wonder if there is merit to the idea of getting a beginner to try to alternate pick through odd numbered, two-way escape patterns, even if their movement is inefficient, just to learn to get control of their right hand. I’m especially interested in what @Troy himself might think of this idea. Keep in mind, we have students as young as 8 and 9 years old that we have to teach this material to.

1 Like

Not a teacher (though I gave some piano lessons to kids:) ) nevertheless…

I believe that technique must not be in front of musicality. But.