Small site with practice techniques

Hi all,

(I posted a v. similar message to Reddit :slight_smile: )

I’ve launched a small site of guitar practice techniques at Practicing Guitar — Practicing Guitar documentation that may make your practicing more effective. (Some of it may be very familiar to CtCers.)

When I studied piano, I found several great resources about practicing technique and repertoire, but couldn’t find anything similar for guitar. This site/book is a collection of the best information I’ve found about practicing, adapted for guitar.

Outline:

• Part I - On Technique: The role of the central nervous system, speed, tension and relaxation
  • Part II - Getting Organized: How long to practice, experimenting and observing, and a possible practice routine
  • Part III - Practice Techniques: Practice techniques and variations to learn licks, technique, and repertoire more quickly and thoroughly (e.g. chunking, backwards and forwards chaining, rhythmic variations, hands separate, etc.)

This isn’t a book of licks or practice drills – there are lots of those out there already. It’s a bunch of suggestions and ideas that can supplement any existing practice routine you might have. As always, a good teacher is the best reference!

I hope that this can serve as a reference to teachers, practicers, and guitar hackers like me.

There is a feedback page on the site, but if you have any questions, drop a comment here or DM me.

Cheers, and I wish you all the best in your practice!

jz
https://practicing-guitar.readthedocs.io/en/latest/

11 Likes

Nice work, very well documented.

3 Likes

Awesome, I look forward to checking it out. Thanks

2 Likes

Thank you! Looking forward to checking it out later!

1 Like

I read the first and most of the second chapter. I am particularly interested in trying this out because I feel like my “practice” is not really existent and I do to much without a real goal.