Snake - Hi from Australia

How old are you?

Where are you in your guitar journey?

Professional - Guitar Educator and Clinician.

• How many years have you been playing?

35 Years consistently started at 16

• What musical genres are you interested in?

Metal, Hard Rock, Blues, Fusion, Jazz, Classical, Flamenco, World Music, Country (Not the Dolly Parton/Kenny Rogers type)

• Particular things you’re excited to learn / talk about here?

USX, DSX, DBX and Trapped Pick Slanting - Genius because it only became obvious after Troy explains it!

How have you gone about learning guitar so far?

99% Self Taught, some beginner lessons at the start that gave me bad technical habits.
I highly recommend getting a teacher but find someone who can really shred and is musical.

• Have you spent much time on technique before finding our stuff?

I use to practice 10-15 hours a day for 5 years when I was younger working on Paul Gilbert and Vinnie Moore exercise along with all the other Instructional Videos of the day.

• What Cracking the Code material have you watched?

All of it!

• Can you comfortably play a scale? At roughly what speed?

Yes at 200 bmp or more if my chops are good that day.

• Any particular things you find yourself stuck on?

Took a long time to come up with an efficient way to teach notes on the fretboard to beginners, I have a very effective method using Jazz Charts now.

Do you have any guitar secrets?

I have many…

• Practice the string skipping and 3 string exercises I have posted, using USX and DSX

• Buy a fixed bridge Ibanez guitar or equivalent brand and put 13-56 strings on it, use this as your practice guitar and keep the action at a high factory level. All your other guitars can be 9-42, especially anything with a Floyd and low action.

Use the 9-42 low action guitars live and you will shred like a demon.

*Don’t injure yourself and take breaks if you experience any pain, anything significant stop playing for the day.

Do you still have long hair?