Speed and DWPS...When does it click?

I’ve been playing for many years now and never focused too much on techinique. Been more of a noodler. I’ve always wanted to tap in higher speed shred runs but could never seem to grasp them. Now I am working with CTC and just trying this single string run to start. I’m not expecting results right away and know it will take some work but I am finding my fingers get confused when I try to pick faster.

What should I be expecting when and if this barrier ever breaks? How long did it take for things to click?

I find tension builds and I can’t seem to figure out how to release the tension.

3 Likes

Thanks for joining our little mechanical learning caravan here!

There are lots of “clicks”, it depends what you’re asking about. Re: speed, keep in mind that pickslanting and speed are not strictly related. Meaning, having a downward slant or upward slant by itself doesn’t do anything to make it easier to play fast.

However there is a connection between the pickslant and the type of picking motion you use to achieve it. Downward pickslanters very often use forearm rotation, and upward pickslanters are usually either elbow or wrist players. These are not absolute rules, but they hold for enough players that if you’re looking for a starting point, you can consider this a rule of thumb of sorts.

Point being, I wouldn’t worry about pickslanting at all to start with. Choosing a picking motion is a more fundamental decision that needs to be sorted out first. Do you use elbow, forearm, or wrist motion currently? Which one? Can you do it fluidly on a single string? Those are really the first steps.

4 Likes

This is good info man :ear:

1 Like

Thanks Troy, much appreciated response.