Standard speed practice in the CtC era?

I was just curious if Troy’s discoveries regarding picking speed have any actual impact on the standard metronome practice of working up to your “wheels falling off” speed, then trying an even higher speed, then going back to the previous speed and it supposedly feeling easier to play. Any thoughts or personal anecdotes?

Troy has extensive theories about this that strike me as contrary to best practices in classical music.

In what way? Or do you have links to any of this? Thanks.

I can only share my anecdotal experiences as a player and teacher.

I started playing when I was about 12. I’m 34 now, so this would above been about the year 2001. At first, my father showed me the basic chords and a few riffs he knew, but after a month or two he decided to send me to lessons. I was very fortunate, I had an excellent teacher who is a genuine virtuoso.

I was mostly playing standard “guitar” songs for the first two years. When I was 14, my teacher introduced me to Eric Johnson’s music. It left a huge impression on me, and this ignited my interest in developing my technical facility. By the age of 16 or 17, I was playing note perfect covers tunes by Eric Johnson, Paul Gilbert and Steve Morse.

My teacher never once told me to practice slowly with a metronome. He did tell me to break down longer phrases into smaller parts, bringing the parts up to speed and then connecting them. However, everything was framed as a problem to solve. I was told to go home and figure out how to play something, not to drill for reps.

I didn’t even know that I was “supposed to” practice slowly with a metronome until my family got broadband internet and I started reading online forums, which was when I was about 16.

The internet convinced me that I needed a practice routine, strarting slowly with a metronome, so I planned out my practice schedule and started practicing slowly with a metronome.