Strat pickup recommendations?

Hey forum - I’m looking to replace the pickups in my Mexican strat. Any good recommendations? I would entertain both super cheap and pricier ideas - thanks!

Don’t you think some more Information could help?
Why do you want to replace them?
What sound are you looking for?
Why replace with super cheap pickups?
They would probably be worse than the ones you have now.

Thomas

2 Likes

Hey there - thanks for the clarifying questions!

I don’t like the sound of my MIM strat pickups - in particular, they aren’t very balanced. I’m open to different strat sounds including vintage, modern or hum cancelling. This strat is mainly used for a wedding/cover band, so it ends up playing a lot of different pop/rock styles. I’ve heard good things about GFX and Dragon Fire pickups which are cheaper so I would consider those. Also, I definitely don’t believe expensive pickups necessarily sound better. I’ve had some ho hum experiences with changing pickups in the past (mostly humbuckers) so I kind of like the idea of not spending too much but I would definitely shell out some bucks for a good set. Hope that makes sense - thanks!

I’m strongly considering Zexcoils in my strat. I can’t recommend them, because I haven’t done it yet, but great single-coil tone with no hum is really appealing. Fairly expensive, too. Especially compared to GF stuff, which I’ve also heard good things about.

1 Like

Could you maybe give a little more insight into what you mean by “not balanced”? Like, in terms of output from position to position? Or in terms of EQ and if so too bassy, too trebly, too something else? Or string-to-string balance?

I’ve played a TON of different singlecoils, both true singlecoils and singlecoil-voiced humbuckers, and would be happy to weigh in a bit, but it’s hard to tell what you’re really looking for ere.