String spacing and pick choice

I’ve been playing guitar for over 25 years and had a variety of guitars. One thing I found to detrimental to my pick choice is the spacing distance between each string. My main guitar is a Washburn KC-40v. The neck is amazing but after experimenting with different picks I finally came to the conclusion that a Jim Dunlop stubby 1.0 mm was perfect for that guitar. I see a lot of love for the jazz iii picks but found them too thick. What’s your pick choice and do you use different picks depending on which electric guitar you use?

I recently bought some Jazz III XL’s, I like this pick for fast lead playing, the thickness is about right and I like the grip on it. I’ll probably be using this pick from now on mainly. I’ve used Fender Heavy celluloid picks (351) for many many years (not the dull ones, they sound different), and it’s a favorite pick of mine, I scratch a diagonal hash pattern in them with a razor knife to give them some grip. I also like using a green or purple Dunlop Tortex pick for playing thrash metal, again I carve a hash pattern in it for grip. I’ve also used purple Tortex Jazz III’s on Fender strats and telecasters because the pick is less bright when you wear the edge in, because I really don’t like the sound of single coils in high gain settings and this darkens up the tone a lot so it doesn’t have that “chirp” the other picks do.

Lh_satch, that’s interesting. In what way is string spacing a factor for you? Are you switching between, say, an electric guitar and a mandolin, or banjo, or ukulele?

Personally, I use a different pick depending on the tonal characteristics I want for what I happen to be playing. The string spacing difference between my 6- and 7-string electrics isn’t a factor.

I have a few favorite picks that work for me mechanically and that sound good to my ear, with my gear. They vary in tone, so I use the pick that best suits the tone I’m looking for at the moment.