Switching from wrist to elbow, am I really doing this right?

Hi there, greetings from Italy,

I’ve been playing guitar on and off for 30 years and I’ve never been able to get passed 110 bpm 16ths (and that’s on a single string) using a wrist motion in a De-Meolaish fashion. Always started licks and scales on a downstroke no matter what.

I came across CTC through the amazing Uncle Ben Eller, saw the CTC series and by the end I had decided I was a DWPS wrist. Then I went through the primer a couple of times, and one month later I’ve realized I’m quite the opposite, an Elbow DSX although I’m pretty sure there are some helper motions there.

I’m trying to build up my speed and apparently I’m slowly succeeding - I’ve started some chunking to get thing improving especially on the left hand which is having a very bad time keeping up - but would be glad to have any input from the forum as to there being something wrong with the basic right hand movement. I don’t want to bring any more bad habits onwards.

I seem to have more issues ascending rather than descending; descending I click back a little and the dsx takes care of everything whereas ascending if I don’t consciously increase my supination, and maybe edge pick a little harder on the wound strings, my pick either gets stuck or flies above the next string.

Sometimes this happens since my motion is not very precise and too much of the pick hits the stings, not only the tip, thereby slowing me down… or stopping me altogether.

Lastly, the beginning of my lines is usually a problem, 9 time out of 10 either the amount of edge, strength, pick height, etc. is off, so they sound terrible and it usually takes me at least a half a bar of music to get things synced up. Anyone have any tips on how to practice this ?

Thanks in advance for any input, its greatly appreciated!
Ciao
Edoardo

Front View

Front Tremolo

Scales

Scales slow-mo

Scales with forearm

Reverting to old habits