Therion - To Mega Therion cover

It is the first cover I’ve done that contains a proper solo. Not just one, but two.
Four tracks per guitar plus two tracks for solos, so it was quite challenging to sync everything properly.
Also it seems to be the best mix I did so far, but still it’s far from perfect and I could use some good advice.

I am looking forward to any feedback, tips and critiques.

Nice ! Cant say I ever got into them but a friend of mine was so I heard a lot of their stuff around the late 90s.

Did you use a backing track for the drums and keyboards ? I’m doing some recording at home and wondered if it’s easy to get hold of stripped down backing tracks for any artist. So far I’ve programmed the drums myself on my old Zoom multi-studio but it’s pretty hard and tedious not being a drummer myself.

Bass, drums and keys come from guitar pro tabs exported to midi. I just ran a few plugins and humanized it a bit, nothing much. Which reminds me I did not do any postprocessing on drums like EQ or compression, but to be fair I’m total noob at it so maybe it’s for the better.
I’m glad though that the solos sound like one track for the most part even though they were doubled.

Surprisingly guitars on their own are very thin and shrill, it’s only with the bass and drums when they pick up any weight. I’m curious if that’s normal.

Yeah, programming drums on your own is almost painful.
Even more so if you don’t know anything about writing drums at all.

I see, cool I’ll try that with Guitar Pro I must admit I didn’t think of that. Just doing a simple drum pattern drove me crazy.