Too much information!

hey all,
I’m new on here so id like to start by saying hi!

i’ve been watching vids about pick slanting and cross picking and sweeping and supination lol…and i’m just confused on where to start. I was hoping to find some information on exercises to practice to gain speed and precision but all these vids are about technique. (which is great by the way!)

I’ve been playing for a while so I’m not a beginner yet through watching the vids i realize i do multiple techniques and they blend into one another. am i supposed to pick one and go with it or does moving in and out of different hand positions alright?

I was never a speed player but I’m hoping to gain a little speed through this site. I know theres a blurry place between teaching me technique and me playing notes that I hear.

QUESTION - is there an efficient order to follow? I feel like its learning how to pick slant then supination then cross picking then sweeping. makes sense?

1 Like

I think it would make more sense to start with a song/riff that you want to play but find difficult, and use that as an excuse to improve/learn new picking techniques.

PS: Welcome!! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hey, welcome, thanks for signing up!

Have you taken a look through our “Getting Started” section yet? We made it to address just this kind of question :smiley:

In general choosing one motion that feels comfortable can be a good starting point, but definitely fine to use multiple. This material should hopefully give you a sense of the range of possibilities and help you identify which you may be doing already, and how you can make sure you’re doing them efficiently.

I know it’s quite a bit of stuff to get through so definitely let us know if things are unclear or you have further questions! We’re also working on some new intro tutorial material, to have a more clear and bite-sized path through our stuff.

2 Likes