Tremolo critique

Hi all! I’ve been playing for almost 20 years and I’m a recovering “string hopper.” I’m eager to put that bad habit behind me and enjoy this instrument again.

I’ve spent a couple weeks playing with tremolos and I still feel a bit stuck.

I believe I have some issue with elbow motion. When I have a tremolo going that feels comfortable and effortless (which is rare, but it does happen), my forearm feels relaxed and it feels like my elbow isn’t really engaging. It feels like forearm or wrist motion. But as I switch strings or try to play a sequence of notes, my forearm tightens and my elbow engages. On lower strings, as you’ll see in the video, my elbow tries to kickstart the tremolo and then it continues to fight whatever other motion(s) I’m using.

My questions are:

1. what motion(s) am I using?
  2. how do I prevent other motions from interfering?
  3. if I can get a fluid tremolo on single strings, how do I slow it down or tame it for actual playing?
  4. any other feedback that might help me make progress?

Looking forward to your feedback.

I see what you mean about elbow creeping in.

I’d say you have a good start on a forearm-wrist blend similar to Doug Aldrich. Definitely seeing “upstroke escape” trajectory in any case.

Not sure I have a good answer re: “prevent other motions from interfering”. Anecdotally, I find that using a slightly more flexed wrist posture (starting to look a little more like a “gypsy jazz” style setup) tends to invite the forearm rotation aspect to dominate more, which might help quiet the elbow if that’s your goal. As you get a feel for it, you may find you’re able to replicate the motion you want even without extra wrist flex in your setup.