Trouble getting decent tone with VST ampsims

Ok, basically I am not a newbie in using ampsims.
I’ve been using them for about 8 years, if not more, so one could say I know my way around.
The problem is, I was never able to get the tone that I was happy with - not for recording anyways.
It is all fine when I’m just jamming, but when I want to record something more seriously, I just can’t get a decent tone out of it.
There’s always something wrong, too fizzy, too boomy, too much gain, too weak tone, too honky, too scooped.

I’ve been told to use equalisers, use less gain, but I did all that.
Let’s break it down, shall we?

1. "Low pas at 6kHz, you don’t need more highs"
Low passing at 6kHz makes the tone very dark and dull, moving the lowpass higher gives “fingernails on a blackboard” sound that I am not too fond of.

2. "Use the IRs we gave you"
I’ve tried plenty of impulse responses - I liked Guitarhacks’ the most - but others told me to use specific ones they gave me. So I did, and the tone was… weird. Not what I was used to. Dark, sometimes honky, sometimes extremely fizzy - or all of the above, I don’t know how is that possible.

3. "Use less gain"
I did that already. In fact I was clipping before, so now I set up my interface to -12dB so my signal does not clip anymore.
Maybe I should turn it down more? Amped Roots still is a high gain monster if I set input and gain knobs in the plugin to minimum.

4. It sounds low quality to me
Yeah, that. I’ve seen some great sounding demos and playthroughs of digital ampsims. Some fantastic sounding covers using them. Even some original songs.
Glenn Fricker from Spectre Sound Studios did some comparisons between ampsims and real things, and the difference was negligible at best.
So I tried exact same ampsims with exact same settings on them, the same IR’s - the results are somewhat lacking.

I am attaching an example below, together with some samples of my playing through several ampsims.