Trouble to analyze my technique (video)

Hello there,

I’m new here and fascinated by all the things I’m learning about picking technique since I subscribed.
I am mainly self-taught, and I realize I am applying some bits of this and that but do not use either UPWS or DWPS fully. At least I can’t relate to any example of guitar player I saw in the videos so far.

However, my picking technique works for what I do. So I’m probably doing things explained in the videos that I didn’t understand yet ?

I would gladly appreciate a feedback!
Thanks.

2 Likes

To me it looks like mostly upward slanting with a fixed wrist movement.
Sometimesit looks like you are you doing a bit of a downward slant on the downstrokes.

1 Like

Great playing! Thanks for posting. For the scale examples you’re using a pronated crosspicking technique. This is the “Molly Tuttle” approach we teach here:

For the tremolo stuff, you switch to a downstroke escape (i.e. “upward pickslanting”) motion — still pronated probably, can’t really tell from this angle. We also cover these motions in the crosspicking lesson, since single-escape motions are included in the crosspicking motion. You can think of this as just the lower half of your crosspicking scale technique.

We posted a portion of the crosspicking lesson publicly over the weekend:

This is the part of the lesson where we show you how to look at your wrist and figure out what movements you’re actually making - that should clear up some of this. To fully understand both of these movements you’re making, I recommend watching the complete lesson on the platform.

In short, what you’re doing looks and sounds awesome, is being done perfectly, and I wouldn’t change anything! But becoming more aware of the superpowers you already possess can help you take more control of these movements and apply them to different kinds of phrases.

Nice work here.

2 Likes

Wow, thank you for this awesome answer Troy, and for taking the time to check my playing.