Unsure of Where to Begin

Hey All,

I’ve been playing guitar for about 15 years, but I never really practiced anything technical or worked on my form until about a year ago. I started to get into jazz and realized that I’d need to get serious about my technique to make any strides in that genre. I started taking private lessons to learn the theory, and I just signed up here at the recommendation of my brother.

Anyways, I’ve watched the intro videos about the different picking techniques, and I think my current picking style is supinated with wrist and some forearm; however, I’m a little unsure of how good my form is currently, as well as what I should do next.

I recorded two videos: the first is me playing the six note pattern at the beginning of the Yngwie lesson, and the second is the five note pattern from the beginning of the Eric Johnson lesson. Both are pretty much my top speed at which I can consistently hit the notes correctly; however, I find the six note pattern to be more challenging than the five note pattern, and I feel my forearm tense up and tire on the six note pattern.

Six note:

Five note:

I’m not a very fast player yet, and increasing my speed with precision is a big goal for me now. I just don’t really know where to go from here. Does my current form need tweaking to maximize the movement pattern? How should I go about trying other picking forms, and how long should I spend trying others out to determine whether or not they work for me? I’ve done a little tinkering with them, but none of the others feel very smooth to me initially. Maybe I’m just not spending enough time trying them out?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks all.

3 Likes