up slanting Thumb scraping

Hello Troy;

First off I have solved the issues with streaming the lessons, thank you; I am a veteran gtr player, high honor Berklee graduate, have a record out with some of the most coveted NYC players including M. Stern featured in one of ur CTC episodes and have taken a couple of on line courses to keep up with new techniques and advances, CTC floors them all, total genius in breaking down the mechanichs and finally solve picking issues that plagued my playing for decades, the best money I’ve spent EVER!

I do have one question that wasn’t able to answer from the lessons and is the following:

When upslanting does the side of your thumb scrape the strings below (musically, physically would be above) or is it completely free? It’s hard to tell from the clips, thanks for making me a better player already and I’ve just joined, looking forward to improve and burn with ur lessons.

Antonio Penn

I’d like to bump this question. I’ve been working on some DSX and whether on clean channel or gain I occasionally notice the underside of my pick hand thumb scraping on the low E string. It’s annoying. Setup for this is side angle pad grip and a lightly pronated forearm. Once I’m aware of it I can adjust ever so slightly by either creating a little space between my thumb and bass strings, or just ever so slightly back off the pronation, and get rid of the scraping sound. Do others on here notice this? @tommo I know you’re one of our resident experts in DSX and I am pretty certain I’ve noticed pronation in some of your playing. Any tips for us?

EDIT: I just fact checked myself. @tommo you’re indeed in a posture that could get ‘scrapey’ sounding here:

That clip is acoustic and I’d imagine the scraping isn’t real audible. If you played with the exact same right hand form on electric…do you hear scraping??? Thanks in advance for any insight!