** Update** Mixing DDU and alternate for roll/drone patterns

I’ve been working on and off on rolls/arpeggios for a few years and when I play I tend to use two approaches (whether it is for 1nps or more scalar stuffs). I’ve been doing DDU things as well as strict alternate rolls, but separately.

The more I get into it I think that mixing the two approaches could yield to interesting patterns, because alternate vs DDU (or mini-sweep) have different dynamics and also to combine even and odd rhythmic motifs. It’s not necessary for Bluegrass stuffs, but for any style you can think of. I’m thinking Indian sarod players might do something similar, but I have no clue actually.

Anyway I have some hard time doing that seamlessly. I can do DDU and alternate stuffs separately, but mixing them together is causing me headache.

A basic example of this would be something like (example on A/D/G string):

G------d-----------
D----u—u---d-u—
A–d-------d-------

So it’s a 7 note patterns which is a basic roll (alternate) + DDU motif.
I can do that slow, but when increasing speed there’s a point where it all falls apart. There seems to be a mechanic pitfall that I can’t figure out.

How would you approach that ?

1 Like

Any three-string pattern like this I would probably try alternate picking that first. Yes, this has an odd number of notes, which would cause the pattern to start over on an upstroke, and then a downstroke, and then an upstroke, and so on. But that’s actually really good exercise in learning what all these combinations feel like and getting them smooth.