UPDATE: What’s your opinion on this refret job?

Hey guys I’ve just had my 1984 jap start refretted. I was so nervous about having it done as I’ve had the guitar for about 20 years and it’s been my number 1 guitar but it just needed doing.
However I’m not sure if I’m happy with it. I basically know nothing about guitars other than how to play them and I’m not a diy kind of person and have zero knowledge of how to refret guitars.

I think some of these frets look messy? I’m not sure if that’s because they actually are messy or I’m just being a perfectionist and wanting the frets to all look the same.
Like. Said I have zero knowledge about this stuff so I’m not sure if by taking it back and requesting it to be sorted I’m asking the impossible or if it is actually a poor job that’s been done?
Here are a few pics and a short video
Any help would be awesome!

1 Like

I don’t want you to be upset, because there’s nothing you can do to “undo” any of what was done, but IMO it doesn’t look like a top job.

My question is if the fret tangs were visible prior to the refret? Usually the tangs are cut shorter than the frets so they are not visible, and then the slot is filled with wood filler.

Also, it appears that the whole edge of the board was leveled which removed the finish. Its hard to see if that is the case, but in a sloppy fret job, if the frets are cut wider than the board and are hanging over the edge, they might use a sanding block to shorten them, which also would remove finish from the corner of the board. This might make it marginally narrower and expose the wood beneath the laquer. It could also weaken the finish and cause it to start flaking off.

The fret ends also don’t look rounded. It appears that very little work was done in shaping the ends, instead they did most of the work with the sanding block.