USX wrist motion and garage spikes problem

Hi Ctc forum,

I am a beginner guitarist and I started playing guitar by mostly practicing rhythm guitar. After getting the basics, I want to learn how to play lead so I found this site (gladly) and I watched the Pickslanting primer to develop a solid foundation.

I am both comfortable with wrist and FW combination movements but I picked the wrist motion as my core motion. When I first started the speed test, even 140 bpm 16th notes felt very awkward but after a week or so I managed to increase my speed to 160 bpm but for the last 2 weeks I have been stuck at this tempo. I can pick like 10 seconds comfortably at this tempo but after that the pick starts to get caught between the strings (almost always in upstrokes). So I am getting a garage spikes problem especially on the upstrokes after a while, and that throws me out of time.

I use DWPS, USX, a lightly supinated forearm position, 9-3 wrist deviation movement and a trigger style grip, (similar to Mike Stern’s approach). I still haven’t figured out the reason for the garage spikes problem on the upstrokes so what could be the reason here?

I can also post a video here if its going to help to solve this problem.

Thanks

Hey welcome, @Kaaan !

I’m no good at diagnosing problems, but the experts on here are going to need to see a video. I do know that we aren’t always doing what it feels like we’re doing. The only way to know is to post a video and the experts will be glad to help. Here are the suggestions on getting good video:

Thanks @joebegly
Here are 2 videos from 2 different angles:

First half of them are normal speed and the other half are slow motion

Hi Kaaan! Thanks for signing up, and thanks for posting.