Vinnie Vincent's Picking

I found this video while wandering around guitar youtube and realized that his picking hand is doing what looks to be a mix between hybrid and UWPS. I’ve never seen him actually play before so I thought it was interesting. Edit: I’ve never cared for anything he’s done but finding interesting hands has become a hobby of mine.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEyYGNX_TP4

I studied with an incredible jazz/fusion guitarist who played in a band with VV way back in the day (they both grew up in Connecticut). According to him, VV is an excellent guitarist when he’s playing Jeff Beck style rock guitar stuff. This era was more about him trying to be relevant during the first wave of late 80’s/early 90’s shredders.

1 Like

Wash you guy’s mouth out with soap. Vinnie whips ***. lmao

I loved his album with Mark Slaughter also

4 Likes

I have a soft spot for Vinnie. We actually put him in “Conquering the Scale”, Cracking the Code Episode 12, on the TV screen in the music store. His playing was horrendously sloppy, and on top of that, he is the only case I can think of off the top of my head where a player actually sped up their solos on the record. It’s a common accusation in the YouTube era that probably doesn’t happen as often as people think, but Vinnie actually did it. And he mimed to those sped up performances on his REH video. Later parts of the video, in the instructional section, also look sped up but I don’t know how they would have controlled the pitch of the guitar with the tech that was available at the time, unless maybe he was detuned to start with.