Weightlifting and Guitar?

I just started lifting weights and am actually really enjoying it. I know im probably just paranoid but…will lifting have a negative impact on my guitar playing? Finger fatigue? Technique problems? Thank you!

almost certainly not

I dont think so. I know many great guitarisrs that lift.

Unless you manage to hurt yourself with poor lifting form, I don’t see how.

DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) could be temporarily uncomfortable while playing, especially if you’re just starting out with lifting and all stimulus is new to your body, but the (enormous) benefits of weight training outpace that greatly IMO.

For what it’s worth I’ve been lifting in one form or another since I was 15 and my dogwater playing is completely and utterly unrelated to that :smiley:

This guy seems to manage fine

2 Likes

Also just remembered Troy is pretty jacked

I’d say no in my experience, just don’t practice guitar immediately after lifting weights. It won’t increase your chance of injury or anything, I’ve just found that dexterity/finesse takes a hit - spacing them out by a few hours is probably fine.

That said, one famous player who has claimed bodybuilding negatively impacted his playing is George Lynch.

1 Like

@murphy_5150 only thing I would keep in mind is overall CNS fatigue / exertion, especially if you push close to failure. I’m kind of having that issue currently; haven’t felt like playing in about a month, and I think it’s because I’ve been pushing physical endeavors pretty hard for a couple months.

2 Likes

On the whole I never noticed a difference; I have a friend who has chronic tennis-elbow but it’s because he ignored the pain and wouldn’t correct his form. If you follow an established program and use strict form you should be fine.

I lift a few times a week. In fact, I was just about to knock out some sets. I don’t lift heavy or get too crazy, though. No 1 rep maxes for me. But I do leave myself pretty wiped out after a workout.