What is my wrist motion?

Hey, my name is Jermaine. I’m very new to cracking the code and to this forum. I’m playing guitar for 6 years now. I want to work on my picking technique to get more control, endurance and speed. I’d like to ask you for help, to find out, which wrist motion I am actually using. I would say… forearm(?) I really don’t know. So I made 3 short videos…

I am very thankful for any help I get. Maybe some tips in general? :slight_smile:

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/AwAsIPg7c-k

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/5hBr3p8wqJ8

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/F7AlVoPN-ys

Sounds awesome, looks very non-tense to me too. Can you tell it it’s escaping the strings on upstrokes vs down strokes? That’s the next step when you’ve got speed and a nice sounding attack like that. Figure out if you’re USX or DSX and find some phrases that match it.

2 Likes

Could it be DBX too?

Yep, it could be. That’s really tough to “feel” and also tough to see. I’ll never forget one of the early RDT videos where Troy demoed what he thought was a DSX tremolo but upon review in super slow mo you could see it was DBX. Troy has really high quality filming though.

Another possibility is that it’s trapped. That would be easier to tell especially if the pick strokes are not kept intentionally small. If we play on one of the inner strings, a USX or DSX tremolo will hit just one of the adjacent strings. Then we’ll know! If it his the “thicker” of the adjacent string (on upstrokes), it’s DSX. If the “thinner” adjacent string (on downstrokes), it’s USX. If it hits both adjacent strings constantly, we’re trapped. In a wrist motion like this, all we’d need is either a little bit of pronation to give us DSX. Or, possibly, a little supination to give us USX (though that often messes things up, changes the motion, and folks still don’t have a USX motion).