What is pickslanting intro lick

Is the lick at the beginning of this video broken down somewhere ?

I love it but am struggling a bit to figure out the right hand from the video.
Looks like downward pickslanting the whole time but it’s not an even number of notes per string lick. I think there is some economy picking / sweeping and that’s how I play it ( not as fast ! ) but I do up sweeps in the descending part and that means angling my pick upward so it can’t be right.

2 Likes

I’m in the course at this part as well and it’s…uh…quite a step up to say the least. I’ve been playing for like 20 years but with super ass picking technique so this type of stuff is great for me.

While I haven’t mastered the down-sweep part I have figured out sort of what’s going on, I think, with this riff. It’s set up in to little blocks that always have a double downstroke when you’re supposed to be moving your left hand in to a new position (I think).

Think of it like doo-doo-dah-dah-doot-doot (the doot-doot)_ is always the double down) doo doo dah dah doo doo dah dah doot doot, etc…doing this off the top of my head but I hope it doesn’t sound ridiculous.

Couldn’t play it right until it was broken down in to phrases that revolve around the double downstroke and change in hand position.

TL;DR - aiui it’s not broken down anywhere, but taking the time necessary to master it has huge implications later.

Not sure if you’re aware, but there is a tab of it in the pickslanting primer showing the up and down strokes.

Aha ! I found it now, thanks ! And @BurnsXL you were right, I the bit that I had wrong is that it is always down sweeps even in the descending pattern.

1 Like

Ah great you’re welcome! Glad I could point you in the right direction if not help, super cool that you figured it out.

Still getting the hang of the descending portion but it makes sense to me now too, just a matter of execution and slowing it down and speeding up.