What is Pickslanting?

Hello,Troy, my name is a. J. And i am a totally blind guitarist. I have been practicing my speed picking technique, and wanted to know what is pick slanting? And can you describe to me how to do this technique? And what motion mechanics are? Thank you.

1 Like

Hi AJ!

In short, pickslanting is the tendency to pick along a diagonal pathway, instead of straight up and down. This allows one half of the picking movement to get out from between the strings and lift into the air, which makes it easier to switch strings. The pickstroke that goes up in the air is called the “escaped” pickstroke, and it can be either the upstroke or the downstroke depending on which type of pickslanting you use.

“Motion mechanic” is just our term for the picking motion itself, whether it is generated by the elbow, wrist, forearm, etc. You could just substitute the term “picking motion” if you like.

More than that it would be difficult to explain in a forum post, however we have other vision impaired viewers like @BlindGuitarist who may be able to give you some feedback on how they were able make use of some of these concepts with essentially audio-only access to our material. Because of this, we try to keep in mind that not everyone is going to be able to watch or see things like our animated material, and this is one of the reason why we tend to do a lot of voiceover narration. Any other suggestions we’re always happy to listen.

3 Likes

Hi AJ.

I find Troy’s verbal descriptions of the various motions quite adequate, but I completely understand that terms like parallel, perpendicular, or saying something like “tilt the pick 20 or 30 degrees down or up” can confuse people whose spacial concepts aren’t particularly strong.