What technique is best to compensate when moving up with an upstroke with DWPS

My goal
I’m an (aspiring) improvising musician – basically my mission to play fast, thorny bebop lines >:)

The problem I’m having
I’m new to the whole pickslanting convo, but it seems that my technique (or lack of) is based on a downward pick slant (?). What I realized is that every line I have trouble playing is because of one mechanic - picking a lower (pitch-wise) string on an upstroke after a downstroke. No surprise there, since that downstroke is trapped between strings.

What I’d like some help with
I can really figure out what I should do to resolve this. Some options as far as I see

• Commit to DWPS: reprogram my left/right hand to never end a string picking on a downstroke. As an improviser, I’m worried about being locked out of a picking scenario because it will happen at some point.
  • 2 way pickslanting: I could practice being mad flexible with that. This seems ideal maybe, but also very difficult and subtle to practice, meaning I might not get it (I am very dense.)
  • Crosspicking? Those dudes do it all. I can’t really tell but maybe that’s what I’m doing right now?
  • Rest stroke??? This seems to be the gypsy jazz approach to dealing with this, and I like the idea. I haven’t seen anyone talking about the rest stroke as the “antidote” for this issue with DWPS, am I on the right track?

I’m just getting into thinking about my picking so please be gentle with feedback when helping me understanding what I’m doing and what I should be doing :slight_smile: wrote a little phrase that does a lot of this lower-note-on-a-lower-string-on-an-upstroke stuff. Help me!!

Link to my video:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1bUFRxdGFbHZZJs3UdLqTT_t1lLdbNs26

3 Likes

Hi there,

Welcome to the CtC community!